top of page



During the formative years of space exploration in the late 1960s, 12 Alpha Kappa Alpha women formed the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority®, Incorporated of Brevard County interest group. Soon the interest group began to discuss the possibility of officially chartering a graduate chapter. The meetings were held at the home of Mrs. Marion Blocker, one of the early pioneers who spearheaded the formation of the interest group.

Always maintaining a connection with a graduate chapter wherever she was located, Marion traveled to Ft. Pierce, Florida to join the Eta Eta Omega Chapter. She recruited her line sister, Eva P. Slaughter as well as Mary E. Catchings, to join Eta Eta Omega as well. Though happy with this chapter, they longed for a chapter in Brevard County. With 12 qualified members, the three Eta Eta Omega members from Brevard invited 5 additional members to join them. They were Melvina Croskey, Willie R. Austell, Eartha P. Simmons, Robbye Tucker, and Dorothy K. Williams. With 17 members, the Iota Pi Omega Chapter was chartered in Brevard County on Saturday, December 16, 1972, under the leadership of Homie Regulus, 7th South Atlantic Regional Director.


Over the years, Iota Pi Omega has positively impacted the community through a variety of programs that addressed issues facing women and girls. The chapter continued to expand and actively engaged the community through health initiatives, reading and mathematics programs, science initiatives, and career programs. In 1973, the chapter formed the Charmettes and sponsored the first Little Miss Fashionetta Pageant (girls age 7-12). They later established the Miss Calendar Girl Cotillion to mentor and offer experiences for young ladies (senior high school students).


From 1978 to 2007, the chapter hosted the world-famous Ebony Fashion Fair Show. Net proceeds from our signature fundraising events were returned to the community in the form of scholarships, donations, and support to families and civic organizations. Iota Pi Omega has awarded over $500,000 dollars in scholarships to graduating Brevard County seniors.




Charter group pic_edited.png

(From right to left beginning with the charter member with the "X" buckle/belt)


Eartha Simmons, Wille R. Austell, Robbye Tucker, Melvina Croskey, Joy C. Bryon, Marion P. Blocker, Audrey T. George, Roberta P. Scott, Ella Pearl Grant, Myra Banks. 

Not pictured:

Rosalyn M. Blake, Mary E. Catchings, Jacqueline A. Scott, Deloris M. Singleton, Eva P. Slaughter, Dorothy K. Williams and Shirley O. Williams

bottom of page